Southern League Sponsor
The Viridor Stadium
Club History

The Peacocks

(The Peacocks)

The present Taunton Town Football Club was formed in December 1947 by a few local businessmen and played their first friendly fixture during Easter 1948. They then played on a number of grounds, such as: Mountfields, French Weir, Victoria Park, Huish Old Boys and finished up at Denman's Park, Haines Hill.

Having joined and played in the Somerset Senior League, 1953 became a notable year. The Town Club gained admission into the Western League and moved into Wordsworth Drive, their present home, on a lease agreement with the Taunton Borough Council.

The Club struggled financially and depended heavily on a very active Supporters Club during the late 50's and early 60's/ 1968/69 season saw an upsurge in the Club's fortunes with Manager Doug Hillard securing the Western League Championship for the first time.

During the middle 70's Ron Gingell became Manager and they finished as runners-up for four consecutive seasons. The 70's was also highlighted by the Club purchasing the Ground from the Taunton Borough Council and the installation of floodlights. During 1977 the Club gained promotion to the Southern League (Southern Section) and in 1979 transferred to the Midland Section with the opening of the M5 Motorway.

The administration of the Club was transformed in 1981 with the Club becoming a Limited Company. The new Board soon found that the Southern League was too expensive and dropped down into the Western League at the end of season 1982/83. It was another seven years before the Championship Pennant returned to Wordsworth Drive. This time Keith Bowker's team was successful.

The Team, under Manager Terry Rowles, battled through all the F.A. Vase rounds to reach Wembley in May 1994 - only to lose in extra time to Diss Town.

Russell Musker was appointed in November 1994, and so began a very successful period for the Club - finishing in the top three during his first year. Champions in season 1995/96, Runners-up for the next two seasons, then back to Championship wins in 1998/99, 1999/2000 and again for the third consecutive year 2000/2001. Also, to cap it all, another F.A. Carlsberg Vase Final appearance - this time at the magnificent Villa Park Stadium played on Sunday 6th May 2001 when we finally reached our goal as winners of the F.A.Carlsberg Vase beating Berkhamsted 2-1!! This ended a sequence of 18 defeats in cup finals since the 1950s.

The season 2001/2002 brought a fight to the end to gain 2nd place in the League to enable the "Town" to apply for the Dr Martens Southern League.  This 2nd place was achieved on the last game of the season Wednesday 8th May - one week later promotion to the Dr Martens Southern League Western Division was confirmed to the relief of all.

Another Cup victory was achieved in 2003, lifting the Somerset Premier Cup with a 2-1 win over Yeovil Town.

Peter Beadle took over as Manager at the start of the 2005/06 season amid great optimism but left in October to join Newport County and former Hallen manager Gary Domone stepping into the hot seat becoming manager of Taunton in October of 2005. Taunton beat Mangotsfield United to win the Somerset Premier Cup in his first season and reached the play-off final at the end of 2006/07 season.

Gary Domone resigned in December 2007 and was replaced by former goalkeeper Ian Jones. His tenure lasted until April 2009 when Taunton stalwart Paul West became manager. Just over a year later and there were changes off the field as well with Tom Harris stepping down as Chairman after 29 years to become Club President with the new Chairman being former commercial manager Kevin Sturmey. 

The club suffered a clubhouse fire in July 2011 which resulted in it being demolished. However new clubhosue and boardroom facilities are now in place. Paul West was not retained as manager at the end of the 2011-12 season with Leigh Robinson being appointed to the post in June 2012. After a mediocre first season in charge, he guided the club to an 8th place finish in 2013-14 after a run of nine successive wins ended the campaign which included a 1-0 victory over Frome Town to lift the Somerset Premier Cup. The 2014-15 campaign saw the club finish 4th in the Southern League but unfortunately they lost to Stratford Town in the semi-finals of the play-offs. However they successfully defended their Somerset Premier Cup crown by beating Yeovil Town 1-0 in the final. Further progress was made in 2015-16 when the club attained its highest ever Southern League finish of 3rd but after winning through the semi-finals of the play-offs the Peacocks were beaten in the final at Banbury United.

Club Honours


FA Vase

Winners: 2000/01

Runners Up: 1993/94

Somerset Premier Cup

Winners: 2002/3, 2005/6, 2013/14, 2014/15, 2016/17

Western League Champions

Winners: 1968/69. 1989/90, 1995/96, 1998/99, 1999/00, 2000/01

Division 1 South & West League

Play-Off Finalists: 2006/07, 2015/16

FA Cup

1st Round Proper: 1981/82 v Swindon Town (A), 2016/17 v Barrow (H + A replay)

FA Trophy

3rd Round: 2003/04 v Worthing (A)